Home > Human Nature > Celebrity Worship

Celebrity Worship

A conversation I had on Facebook with Katrina.

Katrina- (…)but what’s not cool is me not getting to see Z** E**** while he’s in my country .

Me- That message gave me cancer.

Katrina- Don’t tell me you hate Z** E****,please don’t.

Me- I dont hate anyone,I just can’t understand why people worship celebrities.

Katrina- I dont worship him, I think I’m actually in love with him. 

Me- That message gave me a second cancer.

She’s a blogger too,you can read her blog here.

So,let’s get started…

It doesn’t take much effort to realize that a huge amount of people, especially teenage girls, worship celebrities,especially “handsome” actors and singers. They treat them like gods, super-humans, when they’re still just normal people like you and me. They copy their behavior and appearance,they shut their minds off and agrees with everything their idols say,even the simpler phrases sounds like deep and meaningful quotes. They have been blinded by the fake image media have created for certain people.

I’ve never worshiped anything or anyone,let alone someone just because of his looks. That would be the most stupid and insulting thing to myself I would ever done. But I see people everywhere talking for their experience of meeting someone famous in a way that you think that they achieved the ultimate goal of their life and the problem is this is what they think,they truly believe that it’s “the best/one of the best moments of their life”. Seeing those people running,trying to touch a celebrity while crying because of their…I don’t know…”something”,is one of the most tragic things I have ever seen.

And all the above are mainly for the celebrities of today. Because in the past being a famous meant that you had accomplished something scientific,political,cultural,ideological etc.Today you don’t have to accomplish anything,media do all the work for you.All this western culture influence have created a new social disorder, Celebritism,people are trying to be the centre of attention using social media or any other tool they can to become famous.All this influence that these idols have on their fans is one more massive social controlling tool.One way to find out if you’re a victim of social control is to see if what you do,wear,watch,listen even think is what the majority of the people do,if it is,then you are following the crowd and you are just another sheep in this mindless herd. You have no personal style,you are just a copy.

Our choices are a near perfect mirror of our personality.If we waste our life worshiping a pack of garbage then we aren’t much different from it,but instead of that we can go to another direction,where we don’t worship,where we don’t follow anyone and we are our own light in this dark human world.

  1. November 3, 2012 at 08:52

    Good post, Billy !

    I don’t understand idol worshipping, either. But I guess it’s just a phase of life. My Mom told me about how she obssessed on the Beatles. But it was more of their music , rather then on the musicians themselves. Of course she out grew it, but the love for their music lingered on.

    • November 3, 2012 at 20:16

      Addiction in some kind of art is another thing,it can be as bad as worshipping a person but the most times it isn’t.I think all of us like a specific kind of music.Beatles back then had been making a unique music,if someone liked that kind of music they would be obsessed with them because no one else made something similar.

  2. November 4, 2012 at 23:56

    Wow you just made me look like I’m one of the ‘teenage girls’ here. I dont know how I should feel about that.

    But it’s a good post. 🙂

    • November 5, 2012 at 02:26

      Hey Katrina, or should I call you Sandy now? ^^
      By saying that I made you look like you’re one of the “teenage girls” means that I wrote something about you which is not what you really are or what you say you are,but I just copied and pasted our conversation,didn’t post things we didn’t say.If the first part of the post makes you look like you’re one of those girls then it’s because of you,not because of me.

      • November 5, 2012 at 16:22

        I know and I understand what you’re trying to imply here. However, I must say, in my defense, I did not even mean it that way. You must have misunderstood what I was trying to say during the ‘chat’.

        You know what? Never mind, it’s useless to even say anything more about it. It’s your opinion, anyway. It’s not right. And it’s not wrong. Cheers my friend!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

